NaBloPoMo Day 18: Eating Your Words

“Do you speak more than one language? How did you learn the additional languages?”

One of the fascinating things about cooking is that, if you cook, you speak more than one language, perhaps without even realizing it.

I went to a bilingual English-French school through first grade, which means I can speak fluent French, as long as I’m conversing with a 5-year-old. But I also know saute, flambe, even restaurant–all French.

What about pasta, pancetta, osso bucco? Souvlaki, gyros, spanakopita? Chile, mole, tortilla? Sushi, miso, teriyaki?

During my recent culinary travels, I was struck by the number of foods that just were what they were, no translation, sometimes not even a description. The easiest way to explain was to point. It is this.

Of course, that’s never adequate. We live in a world of context. Do you want coriander or Chinese parsley? Galangal or blue ginger? Same, same. On the other hand, do you want yams, sweet potato, or satsumi? All different. And that is the question: when we eat, when are we similar and when are we different?

At work, we sell the same cut of beef for stew, curry, or rendang. When customers ask us what they should buy, we ask, what are you cooking?

So how am I learning other languages? I ask questions and I cook.

, ,

11 Comments on “NaBloPoMo Day 18: Eating Your Words”

  1. the mediterranean diet
    27 June 2013 at 10:27 #

    It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I’m happy that
    you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. how to quickly lose weight
    27 June 2013 at 11:03 #

    I love what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

  3. cellulite factor review
    27 June 2013 at 11:05 #

    You are so cool! I do not suppose I have read anything like that before.
    So good to find someone with some unique thoughts on this
    issue. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a bit of originality!

  4. how to lose 10 pounds fast
    27 June 2013 at 11:09 #

    whoah this blog is fantastic i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You know, lots of people are hunting round for this information, you can
    aid them greatly.

  5. eye floaters no more
    5 July 2013 at 07:53 #

    Hi! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to
    fix this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.

    Appreciate it!

  6. carb back loading
    5 July 2013 at 15:04 #

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to
    mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Regards!

  7. roulette sniper review
    6 July 2013 at 11:48 #

    Hello, its fastidious article about media print, we
    all be familiar with media is a great source of facts.

  8. how to save the marriage
    6 July 2013 at 21:32 #

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own site now ;)

  9. Francis Pasch
    23 September 2013 at 04:49 #

    My brother recommended I might like this web site. He was totally right. This submit actually made my day. You can not consider simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  10. mobile games
    15 April 2014 at 22:15 #

    I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts in this kind of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I
    have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.
    I most unquestionably will make certain to do not omit this site and provides it a glance
    regularly.

  11. watch million dollar arm online
    24 April 2014 at 00:27 #

    Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?

    I have a blog based on the same information you discuss and would love to have
    you share some stories/information. I know my readers would value your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me
    an email.

your thoughts?

