NaBloPoMo Day 7: No simple answer

“If you could change one thing about your life right now, what would it be?”

I’ve spent 15 years living and eating with food-triggered migraines. It took ages to get a handle on it. At first I was stabbing in the dark, uncovering the triggers through a brutal process of trial-and-error. Then when I was given the NHF low-tyramine diet list, it was a huge relief, but it still took years–and a culinary degree–to really master it.

Then I was diagnosed with dairy and egg allergies. Dairy wasn’t so hard since cheeses and yogurt were already off my menu. Egg was a bit more challenging. Eggs are a near perfect food, so simple and yet infinitely complex. And not just chicken eggs, but duck and quail and little salty roes. But off they went too.

The one I really struggle with is wheat. Maybe it’s because it’s the newest. I’ve had less time to become familiar with its loss. Bread, pasta, soy sauce. Some days it seems like every food I meet is covered in wheat.

As with my migraines, I can handle the pain. The cramping that brings you to your knees, the hives that make you want to jump out of your red, raw skin. The physical, I can deal with. The mental, now that requires a level of stamina that sometime I just can’t muster. When the fog settles in for days, weeks, at a time and you can do nothing but wait until it blows over.

But if I could change one thing about my life right now, it might not be the wheat. What I would really change is not knowing why. Why am I one of millions of people whose bodies have turned on them and what they eat. Some people say it has always been this way, we just didn’t know enough to recognize it. I disagree. I think something has gone wrong with our relationship with food, on a global scale, and I would like to know why.

, ,

No comments yet.

your thoughts?

