NaBloPoMo Day 6: Any Job in the World

“If you could have any job (and instantly have the training and qualifications to do it), which job would you want?”

I have always been envious of people who knew what they wanted to be when they grew up.

It took me almost 40 years to figure it out. I first went into the kitchen for personal reasons–if I was going to have to live with a limited diet, I needed to know how to cook really well. Much to my surprise, I completely fell in love with cooking. Hours went by and I barely noticed–it was pure flow.

So I finally have my dream job, but forget the instant download of abilities. What I love about cooking is the process. There is always more to learn, always a better way to do something. It is a craft, so there is no way to develop the muscle memory to perform your task other than to do it: practice, practice, practice.

Need me to dice 50 pounds of potatoes? You got it. Steam and separate single strands of seaweed? No problem. Trim a ton of topsides? Bring it on.

Some people think this is just grunt work on the way to the grill. Not me. It’s called prep for a reason. Everyday, you’re preparing for the greatest job in the world.

,

No comments yet.

your thoughts?

